Salawaku – A Review?

This movie is beautiful.

“Salawaku” tells a story about Salawaku, a native Malukuan boy, and a wealthy modern metropolitan waman from Jakarta, named Saras, set out on a journey to find Salawaku’s mysteriously lost sister.

I personally underestimate the film before I watched it. Reasons? Maybe because it’s Indonesian film. 

Yes, the old me, would likely choose Hollywood’s films rather than Indonesian film to watch at the cinema (what a shame 😥). But, the new me, will never underestimate Indonesian films anymore. And the reason is because of this movie really slaps me in the face for the fact that Indonesian films also has a very good quality. And that, will bring us to the first point why I love this movie. 

The movie, as I said in the first place, is beautiful. I love how Faozan Rizky, the cinematographer, showing us the beauty of Maluku. Everything looks so good, and leave me wanting to go to beaches around Ceram Island. I like this kind of road movie, where the film success to bring us with the character’s journey through excotic places. Like, the movie is giving you a chance to know what it feels like to be in that place, and it such a nice experience. 

The next thing I like from this movie is, how a simple story with quite taboo topic in Indonesia, can be presented nicely with not too much unnecessary dialogs and scenes. Like the backstory of Saras, well told by a simple flashback of the night before she went away from her resort and voiceover of her and her boyfriend. This kind off flashback is my favourite! Also from the begining of the movie, and almost all Binaya’s scene before the third quarter of the movie, are my favourite scenes for the same reason. This kind of storytelling is also the reason why my first word of this movie is beautiful. (Yes, it has stunning visual with minimal dialogue. It’s one of my favourite style of film)

And because the movie hasn’t much dialogue, the next thing they should boost beside the cinematography, is of course the acting from their actors. I definitely would agree that the actors play their role really good, even for some scene without dialogue. And yes, the story is well told by their performance. 

Oh! Forgot to tell you that I also love the traditional songs played as the backsound (okay, I’m actually sure this is the prefer word for that music plays in the middle of a movie, so correct me if I’m wrong!) of the movie. 

It’s another 9/10 from me, and yes, you should watch it because it’s soooo gooooddd 😉😉. And if you wonder where to watch it, you can find it on HOOQ (it’s basically an app to watch movies and tv series like Netflix, and it’s quiet populer in Asia).

Hey, if you’re Indonesian, and already watched the film, share your thoughts about it on the comment section! I’d love to hear it 😊. But, if you haven’t, go watch it after reading this post!

Tinggalkan Balasan

